Why I’m Switching to a Vlog Format

I’m gonna keep this brief: if you read my Holmes and Watson review, I said that it would be my final written review. I’m not hanging it up.

I’m just switching to a Vlog format.

I’ve wanted to switch to a Vlog format all last year, calling it Ryan Watches 2.0, However, I couldn’t devote the time and effort that I really wanted. In fact, my most popular review last year was me roasting Fifty Shades Freed while destroying the respective media of the Fifty Shades trilogy. I couldn’t find a jump off point either. So, starting with my review of Glass, I will be switching to a Vlog format. Here are some of the changes I’m looking to make:

There will be an occasional written editorial if a topic is of interest to me or for the time being a Catching Up review, but those be the only written blog posts. I will also only be focusing on big ticket movies for the time being. There has to be a demand for it, good or bad. It’s why I did a Ryan Watches on Bird Box because I knew there was a demand for it. So if you want a Ryan Watches on Roma, there has to be a built in enough fanbase for me to cover it. I have backlogged reviews I’ve written on films like Thoroughbreds and Upgrade, but didnt release them as I felt there wasn’t any interest. As it is, inspired by my thoughts on Glass, I decided to write a sequel to a blog post I had fun writing a few years back:

I want to bring back Trailer Trash as a video segment, but it has to be an offensively bad trailer. I’m not going to go full Armond White and attack a trailer because its popular. It has to be a “Why is this getting released in theaters?!” type of trailer. It just so happens I found a perfect candidate with a movie called Little.

But more importantly, as a photographer, I want to get back to the MEDIA aspect of Newrealms Media. It’s why I’m looking to go Vlog. My reviews are gonna stay spoiler free, but you will hear my voice with visual accompaniment.

That being said, subscribe to my YouTube channel at:

Youtube.com/newrealmsmedia

Leave a comment